DIY: Tape + Paint Canvas Art

TapePaintCanvasArt2

 

Yep.. it’s back! This tutorial once lived on a blog no longer around. Isn’t that fun? Anyway, this is my favorite canvas art so far. No, it’s not perfect. In the beginning, when I noticed the little imperfections, I was ready to throw it out and never make another thing ever for the rest of my life. But when I hung it up, I decided I quite liked it, imperfections and all. This is an easy canvas art tutorial if you have a blank canvas, tape and paint lying around. Have fun!

Materials:

  • Canvas (or you can use board or whatever you feel like)
  • Acrylic Paint
  • Tape (choose width based on the style you want)
  • Paint brushes
  • Acrylic varnish

 

Step1-CanvasArtSupplies

 

Instructions:

1. Figure out a game plan. I made brief sketches in a notebook, but I didn’t do much planning. All I really knew is what colors I wanted to include. The nice thing about tape is that you can keep doing it over and over again until you have it just right!

2. Prepare the canvas. Now is a good time to prep your canvas if you prefer. For this one, I didn’t do any Gesso or painting of my canvas beforehand. If you don’t want a white background, you’re going to need this step.

3. Lay down the tape. I mostly left my tape where it landed, but of course you can do it as many times as you need to. Although, I do not recommend using this artist’s tape. I was trying to protect my canvas with the low tack tape, but it was a little bit too low! You want tape that sticks really good for the painting part. That is where a lot of my mistakes happened. I think regular Scotch tape should be fine, though be careful if you’re painting your canvas beforehand. You don’t want it pulling up paint.

 

Step 2-AddTapetoCanvas

 

4. Start painting. Now for the fun part! With the tape on there, it should be fairly easy to paint. I used the sponge brushes for painting the larger triangles, then needed the smaller one for the smaller areas. If you’re painting the sides, I recommend painting that section together, with the top and sides at the same time. Otherwise you end up with a big mess. I did end up re-doing my yellow section because next to the white, it was much too faint. The brighter yellow really popped.

 

Step 3-PaintOverTape

 

5. Wait for it to dry. Acrylic paint dries fast, so don’t be surprised if your first painted section is nearly dry by the time you finish the last. I don’t think I waited more than an hour for the paint to dry.

 

6. Remove the tape (slowly!) and see how it looks. This is where I got frustrated and almost threw the damn thing away. Because I chose basically the worst tape possible, my tape moved and the paint wasn’t even. As long as you don’t use this kind of tape, you should be fine. I had to go in and try to paint the lines best I could. Hey.. it’s art. Doesn’t have to be perfect, right? I appreciate you validating me on this one.

 

Step4-touchups

 

7. Apply a clear Acrylic varnish. Choose a varnish specifically made for acrylic paint. This is optional, but I highly recommend it. It not only gives it a glossy look, but it protects your painting. Acrylic paint can be removed with water – this is great for correcting mistakes, but not so great if you get water on a completed painting and now have to fix it. Varnish can help protect it.

 

TapePaintCanvasArt

 

And.. done! Like I said, I’m choosing to accept the imperfections and appreciate the fact that when it’s hanging up, I’m the only one that notices.

Bye!

JennSig

3 thoughts on “DIY: Tape + Paint Canvas Art

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up: Freelance Writing, Spring Crafts, and Panic Attacks | It's a Jenn Thing

Leave a Reply

