I Didn’t Miss My Alarm Clock

Credit: Laura Evans Photography

Credit: Laura Evans Photography

 

Now that I have been freelance writing for a few years, I am out of the habit of using an alarm clock. Before you roll your eyes, I don’t sleep in until noon. My body’s internal alarm still wakes me up between 5 and 6 am every morning. If my body doesn’t, my dogs do.

I often find myself taking for granted being able to wake up at any time I want, until I need to wake up earlier, set an alarm, and drag myself out of bed. Like this morning. My 2-week work invoice is due at 9am, so I got the brilliant idea to get up at 4 and get some last-minute work done. I lost a few days of work due to the new project not being quite ready yet, so I’m playing catch up.

For some reason in my mind, I thought it wouldn’t be that hard. I set the alarm for 4am.. only 2 hours earlier than normal. No big deal, right? Plus, it’s not like I need to go anywhere. I work from home. Simple.

Yeah, no. If I got up naturally at this time in the morning, it would be no big deal. But something happens in your brain when you HAVE to do something. All of a sudden it becomes impossible and terrible. So here I am. Up at 4, wishing I was dead. Okay not dead. Just asleep.

I see a noon-time nap in my future.

JennSig

4 thoughts on “I Didn’t Miss My Alarm Clock

  1. I’m terrible at waking up, no matter the time. I hit snooze until I eventually turn the alarm off, and if it weren’t for my husband I’d probably sleep until about 10 every day.

  2. I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! You can check out the rules and get the badge on my blog, but it’s a no-strings-attached-award, so you don’t have to do anything unless you want to.
    🙂
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

